M&A

Epiq buys Canopy — breach-response stack moves in-house. Price Undisclosed.

Epiq acquires Canopy (Sep 25): Auto Review agentic AI + breach data-mining into Epiq AI / Service Cloud. Vendor-stated: 87% breach counsel / 70% cyber insurers / 1800+ incidents/yr. POV: does owned tech cut client price — or raise switching costs?

Sep 28, 2026 · 4 min read

Legal-tech services giants used to partner for breach-response tooling. Epiq just internalized the stack. On September 25, 2026, Epiq acquired Canopy — a data breach response technology company. Purchase price: Undisclosed. Primary: Epiq resource-center release + same-day GlobeNewswire.

What moved. Canopy’s patented platform assesses exposed data, detects sensitive information, and identifies impacted individuals. Auto Review uses agentic AI to automate first-level data mining review so teams move from culling to quality control. The platform will integrate into Epiq AI™ and be accessible through the Epiq Service Cloud. Scott Berger, SVP Managed Services and Cyber Solutions: Canopy was a longstanding partner; bringing technology and engineering talent in-house gives clients a more connected breach-response experience — proactive preparedness plus AI-strengthened post-event response.

People signal. Former Canopy COO Adi Elliott joins as Vice President, Product Management, Cyber. Canopy engineers and cyber response specialists also move over to build Epiq AI for Cyber. Elliott’s quote in the primary: Canopy was built so organizations understand scope and impact and respond with greater speed and confidence; Epiq’s global resources and scale expand that foundation. That is a product-leadership tuck-in, not a quiet OEM renew.

Vendor-stated scale. Epiq says it is a trusted partner to more than 87% of breach counsel and over 70% of cyber insurers; supports more than 1,800 cyber incidents annually; delivers up to 95% data reduction using AI; facilitates up to 2 million notifications per day. All figures are company-stated in the acquisition release — not audited CyberMerge metrics. About Epiq in the same release: presence in 17 countries, 4,000 people worldwide — also vendor About, not a diligence pack. Price, Canopy ARR, and multiple remain Undisclosed.

Secondary confirmation. Law.com Legaltech News (Sep 25) confirmed financial details were not disclosed and framed the shift from partnering with breach-response tech firms to owning the stack. Product and people facts are per Epiq/GlobeNewswire; Legaltech News supplies the “financials not disclosed / partner-to-own” secondary read.

POV — consolidation with a price question. Breach counsel and cyber insurers already sit on Epiq’s rails (per vendor %). Buying Canopy collapses a critical data-mining / notification workflow into the same wallet that runs the services motion. That can mean faster, tighter IR for clients — or higher switching costs once Auto Review and Service Cloud become the default path. The sharp underwrite: Does in-house Canopy lower client price through owned tech margins, or does it raise lock-in so counsel/insurer packages get stickier with no published discount? Ask whether Auto Review’s agentic first-pass is a measurable cycle-time cut on the 1,800+ incidents/year book — or a branding layer on Epiq AI. Valuation: Undisclosed. Canopy revenue: Undisclosed. Underwrite services + tech consolidation as stated.

Underwrite sheet — sourced only: Epiq release / GlobeNewswire Sep 25, 2026 — acquires Canopy (data breach response technology); price not stated → Undisclosed; Canopy platform (exposed-data assessment, sensitive-info detection, impacted individuals); Auto Review agentic AI first-level data mining; integrate into Epiq AI™ + Epiq Service Cloud; Adi Elliott → VP Product Management, Cyber; engineers/specialists join for Epiq AI for Cyber; vendor-stated >87% breach counsel / >70% cyber insurers / >1,800 incidents/yr / up to 95% AI data reduction / up to 2M notifications/day; About: 17 countries, 4,000 people. Law.com Legaltech News Sep 25 — financials not disclosed; partner-to-own framing. Canopy ARR / purchase price / multiple Undisclosed.

Sources